This page is a part of the Tompkins Co., NYGenWeb Site. Not for commercial use. All Rights Reserved.

Landmarks of Tompkins County, New York

by John H. Selkreg, 1894; D. Mason & Co., Publisher


Chapter XIII
The Town of Ulysses

Town of Ulysses Taughannock, or Taghanic Indian Villages
Goodwin's Point 1792 Abner Treman Updike Settlement
Trumansburgh 1805 Free Press Pamphlet Civil History
July list 1798 Town Supervisors Town Officers
First Schools Civil War Statistics
Trumansburgh Village Dewitt Clinton Philomathic Library
Masonic Lodges Fire Department Presidents of Village
Schools Fires Manufacturers
Postoffice Cemetery Mercantile Business
Mr. Camp Hotels P.H. Thompson 1836
Churches Jacksonville  

TOWN OF ULYSSES

The Town of Ulysses is situated on the west bank of Cayuga Lake and is the northwestern town in Tompkins county. Its shore line on the lake is precipitous in many places, and the land rises gradually from the bluffs until it reaches a height of 600 feet above the lake, and then spreads into an undulating upland, constituting a beautiful and fertile farming section. The soil is a gravelly loam, admirably adapted for growing grains and grasses. The town contains 19,400 acres, by far the larger part (about 16,000) being improved. The only stream of importance is the Taghanic Creek which flows across the town from west to east. In the northern part is Trumansburgh Creek, and there are several smaller streams, on all of which are cascades. The celebrated Taghanic Falls , which are on the creek of that name and about a mile from the lake, is the highest perpendicular fall in this State. The stream flows through a gorge worn in the shale rock 380 feet deep, and the water drops over a harder limestone ledge 215 feet.1

The town of Ulysses embraces the site of one or two Indian villages which existed before the foot of the white man had impressed its soil. In GREENHALGH's account of a journey westward from Albany made in the summer of 1677, he says, that Indian villages were sixty miles southeast of ye Onondagas on Lake Tiohero (now Cayuga). Another early writer says that where Taghanic Creek empties into the Tiohero Lake the Indians had built a small town and were growing corn, beans and potatoes, and they had also apple trees on the rich flats of two and a half centuries' growth. While we may not readily agree with some of this statement, the site of the Indian village is well known, and was called by the name of the creek. Its inhabitants escaped attention by Lieutenantcolonel DEARBORN in his raid from SULLIVAN's main army, on his return from the Genesee. There was also another Indian village near the site of Waterburg village.

The first white settlement in what is now the Town of Ulysses was, made by Samuel WEYBURN, who came with his wife and four children from Tioga Pointand built his log cabin at what has been known as GOODWIN's Point on the lake shore. His son, of the same name, was town clerk in 1812, but the elder WEYBURN removed away in a few years.

In the fall of 1792 Abner TREMAN and his brother-in-law, John McLALLEN, came to Ulysses. Mr. TREMAN had served in the Revolutionary war, and drew for his services lot No. 2 (640 acres), which tract embraced the site of Trumansburgh. He arranged with his brother Philip to come into the wilderness and clear a part of his land. Philip and his son Benjamin walked here from thirty mile, north of Albany, carrying their axes, provisions, etc. They built a little hut, cleared off about eight acres, and then returned to their eastern home. In the fall of the same year Abner came on, as before stated, burned the brush, piled the logs, sowed the land to wheat, and returned home. Originally from Columbia county, Mr. TREMAN had lived about a year in Chenango county, and in February, 1793, started from there with his wife and three children, and John McLALLEN, his wife's brother, and reached his settlement in March. They built their first log house near the creek. In the winter of 1794 he drove his oxen to the flats where Ithaca is situated to feed them on the marsh grass. Returning he stopped over night at Nathaniel DAVENPORT’s tavern on the West Hill. A heavy fall of snow came on with intense cold, and he started on foot about nine o'clock the next morning. The journey was a terrible one, and he reached WEYBURN's, at GOODWIN's Point, about midnight, but too near dead to enter the house. His cries were heard, however, and he was carried in. His feet were so badly frozen that one of them had to be amputated. In 1794 he built a small grist mill on the creek, and soon afterward erected a larger log house, in 1806 he built a frame house, Mr. TREMAN was a man of great force of character and left his mark upon the community which he founded. He died August 13, 1823, and his descendants are still living and occupying important places in the county, as elsewhere stated.

John McLALLEN's settlement is described in the later history of Trumansburgh village.

Jesse HARRIMAN settled at Trumansburgh in 1793, where he contracted with Mr. TREMAN for 100 acres of land in the west part of the village site for a year's labor in clearing land. He came from Barton, whither he returned, and his father gave him a yoke of oxen. With these and his brother Moses he returned to Trumansburgh, and on the way traded the oxen for 640 acres of land, where Northville now is. His father heard of the trade, came on here, and, as Jesse was not of age, broke up the deal. Jesse HARRIMAN built a frame house and reared a family of children. About 1816 he moved to Enfield and later to Newfield, where he lived with his son Lyman until his death March 16, 1866.

About the year 1794 Richard and Benjamin GOODWIN settled what has since been known as GOODWIN's Point. Benjamin built an early grist mill on the north side of the Taghanic, where Daniel NORTON was miller. He had a son Richard who was father of Rev. William H. GOODWIN. The first Richard GOODWIN had a son George who was a resident of Jacksonville.

James F. CURRY came in 1798 and settled a mile south of Jacksonville. In the same year David ATWATER built a saw mill on Taghanic Creek, near the GOODWIN Mill. Thomas COOPER came in 1799 and brought his grandson Jeremiah with him; the latter was then eight years of age. Their journey from Connecticut with an old ox team consumed four weeks. They made a small clearing, and in the next year Jeremiah's father came on with the family.

Jared TREMAN, brother of Abner, became a settler in 1796, and in that year or the year before, Henry and Robert McLALLEN settled on farms west of Trumansburgh. Elisha TROWBRIDGE came into the town in 1798 from Cooperstown, and settled about a mile west of Waterburg. He died January 9, 1860. Captain Jonathan OWEN moved in about 1800. He had a military lot of a square mile on which he located, and he built the saw mill and grist mill in Waterburg, and gave his son Jonathan a farm near Waterburg, where he lived to near his death.
 
Other settlers on the site of Trumansburgh. or in its immediate vicinity prior to 1800 were Jacob CHAMBERS, Jon ROGERS, Dr. Peter ROSE, and perhaps a few others. Benjamin LANNING came in 1801 and located near Jacksonville; his son Gideon became somewhat noted as an early Methodist preacher.

Robert HENSHAW was one of the pioneers and the first merchant in Trumansburgh. He had a few goods for sale in 1803 but discontinued in 1805, to be succeeded by the CAMPs, as explained further on.

Jonathan OWEN, from Orange county, settled in 1804 west of Waterburg, where the widow of John VANDERBILT now lives. He was the father of L. H. OWEN.

Albert CRANDALL was an early landlord and kept a tavern for many years after 1806, where the BARTO Bank stands, and was succeeded by his son, Minor CRANDALL.

Jeptha LEE, a Revolutionary soldier who drew lot No. 14, but secured only 150 acres of it, came here in 1802 and settled on the homestead now occupied by Sarah JOHNSON. Wilson STOUT also came in that year and has descendants living in the town. Nathaniel and John MACK were the pioneers not much after 1800 in what has been known as MACK Settlement.

Alexander BOWER, a Scotch immigrant, came to this town in 1804 and spent most of his life near Waterburg. Several of his sons are resident in the town.

Richard AYRES, from New Jersey, came in1805 with his wife and seven children; the family and its descendants became prominent in the town.

The UPDIKE Settlement, a little south of Trumansburgh, took it’s name from Jacob UPDIKE, who came from New Jersey in 1800. He was the father of Abram G. UPDIKE, who reared a large family.

Nicoll HALSEY, whose name is familiar throughout the county, settled in Ulysses in 1808, coming from Ovid, where he had located in 1793. He reared a large family, several of whom became conspicuous in the county. He held the offices of supervisor, sheriff, member of assembly, county judge, and member of congress, and was a leading man in the community. (See history of Ithaca village).

Allen BOARDMAN settled in Covert in 1799, and was a man of much prominence. He was father of Hon. Douglass BOARDMAN, Henry BOARDMAN and Truman BOARDMAN. (See biography of Douglass BOARDMAN in later pages).

Azariah LETTS, from New Jersey, settled in the town in 1801 and left a record of mighty deeds as a hunter. Henry TAYLOR, a tanner, who carried on his business many years, came in from Connecticut in 1809.

Mathias DE MUND, from New Jersey, settled here in 1803. He was father of Deacon Edward DE MUND. Frederick BURLUEW settled south of Waterburg in 1807, and his descendants were long residents. John CREQUE came in 1811 and became a leading man in business and public affairs, as further explained in the later history of Trumansburgh.

Dr. O. C. COMSTOCK was in town before 1810, was a prominent early physician, the first postmaster of the village of Trumansburgh, member of congress, etc. His son, O. C. COMSTOCK, jr., married a daughter of Nicoll HALSEY.

Albert G. STONE came to Trumansburgh in 1824 as clerk for his uncle, Hermon CAMP. When he was twenty-one he was taken as partner by his uncle and continued in mercantile business until 1870. For more than fifty years he was a conspicuous figure in the community. He was postmaster of the village ten years; a member of the Presbyterian church, and a leader in public affairs. He died in 1877. His sons were James L., Richard H., Hermon C., and George F.

William Jarvis STONE came here in 1839, first as a clerk and afterward as a store keeper. Died here in 1874.

Samuel VANN came to Ulysses in 1812 and settled where his descendants long lived. He was father of Thomas and Samuel VANN and was one of the early masons of the town.

Lyman STROBRIDGE, a more extended account of whom is given in the history of Trumansburgh, was a soldier of the War of 1812, and settled in the town in 1818. He was for many years a leading man in the community.

Henry BARTO came to Ulysses from Virgil in 1814, and opened a law office, one of the first in this vicinity. He accumulated a large fortune.

We quote the following from a historical sketch written by Dr. J. M. FARRINGTON in 1876, the memoranda for which he gathered largely from Hermon CAMP during his life, and is a description of Trumansburgh in 1805. As far as possible we have brought its statements down to the present time:

The snow was about six inches in depth, and night overtook him before he reached the Pine Woods, which at that time extended to the Halseyville Creek. There was no real road, the smaller trees only were cut, and the road was very crooked or zigzag to avoid the larger trees. He was very weary and cold by the time he reached McLALLEN's tavern. As you come from Jacksonville on the hill east of Halseyville Creek, where the barns of Frank PEARSALL now stand, was a small frame house, occupied by Michael SNELL, who afterwards became justice of the peace. A log bridge crossed the Halseyville Creek, above where the dam now is. The road there wound through what at that time were extensive pine woods, towards Trumansburgh next on the road being a log one, near where A. J. HOWLAND now resides, and was occupied by a Mr. HAVENS. Another log house was located where J. D. GOULD's barn now stands, and was owned by Robert McLALLEN. There was about an acre of clearing surrounding each of these dwellings. The next house was the one built by the first settler, Abner TREMAN.

Going westward, the grist mill of Mr. TREMAN was the first structure, which stood on the site of the present stone mill of CLOCK & SMITH. Both the mill and dam were built of logs. The hillside slope leading to the mill was covered with large hemlock trees, girdled and dead. In the mill pond black ash trees were standing, but dead. A small frame house stood near where the bookstore now is [now a grocery]. Bethniel BOND had once kept a few goods there. A log potashery was standing where Samuel WILLIAMS's shop is, bordering on the mill pond. A Mr. CHEESMAN owned the establishment, and got water from the mill pond for its use. CHEESMAN was there, and made a little potash after Mr. CAMP came; but Esquire BOND was at that time living in Covert with his family on the place now owned by Stephen HORTON [now occupied by  CURTIS]. BOND still owned the little building before alluded to, but kept no goods after Mr. CAMP came. BOND was accustomed to take two or three barrels of potash to Utica with a horse and wagon to buy goods. Mr. TREMAN had then cleared on our present South street as far as where Linas WARING now lives, and John TREMBLY, a tailor, grandfather of the landlord of the TREMBLY House, lived there. The south road was opened as far as Deacon HAND's place, and there David ATWATER lived. Mr. ATWATER first settled where W. B. DUMONT now lives, near the Taghanic depot. The UPDYKE Settlement had occurred previously, and probably the road was opened from Glen Mills, as far as the log meeting house, which stood near the buryingground, on the farm now owned by Peter VAN LIEW. There was a road leading from this place to GOODWIN's Point, passing somewhere near the hill of the present road. There was no clearingthe trees adjacent to the house were felled. TREMAN had cleared both sides of Main street to the creek, which was spanned by a bridge about where it now is. An old orchard on Mr. COREY's land, near the brickyard, marks the site of a house where Joshua HINCKLEY then lived. The only other building in that direction, which Mr. CAMP recollects, was near where Seymour BATES now lives. The timber growing was mostly beech, maple and basswood, while pine and hemlock covered the banks of the creeks and the land adjoining. On the west side of Trumansburgh Creek near where GOODYEAR's store now stands, John McLALLAN had just built a new tavern. It was a frame building, two stories high, the lower story dug back into the bank or hillside, and having a cellar at the rear part of it. The land was cleared upon the hill where the Phˆnix Hotel now stands, and also for a considerable distance beyond, so as to afford quite an extensive meadow, which was used also as a parade ground. Here Colonel CAMP trained his company of cavalry, sometimes three days in succession, with drills every day. Moses HARRIMAN had a little distillery below James L. STONE's present residence, where an old barn of James McLELLAN's (sic) has recently been taken away to make room for a new house. Dr. Peter ROSE lived near where GREGG's furnace now is. He was an excellent physician; but probably from his unfortunate proximity to said distillery, he, too, obtained supplies from there in too large quantities.

There was a small building standing on the site of the present dwelling recently occupied by John VAN DUYN, occupied by Merritt KING, and another where Albert STONE formerly lived. There was a road leading northward to where Deacon KING lived, and from there to the lake, as at present. Cayuga street vicinity was covered with trees; there was no road there.

A small frame house was standing on the hill where what has been known as the Esquire GLAZIER place is situated.    .   .   Onehalf of that building was Colonel CAMP's first store. HENSHAW's family lived in the other half. There were some little clearings in the vicinity, but none of large extent.

HINCKLEY lived where BLUE's Corners now are, and Mr. EASLING, grandfather to James and Henry EASLING, lived where the grandsons now do. There were no buildings from HINCKLEY's to BOND's, which latter was the place that has been known as the NOBLE Farm.

A valuable historical pamphlet was published in the office of the Free Press, written by A. P. OSBORN, from which we must draw liberally for these pages. Concerning other pioneers of the town, it says:

Gamaliel DICKENSON and family came here from Long Island in 1812; many of his descendants still reside here. Daniel ATWATER came into the country in 1799; he located near what is now known as Podunk, where some of his descendants still reside. Ephraim OSBORN emigrated from Fairfield, Conn., in 1814, and settled near the present residence of A. L. SNYDER; one daughter, Mrs. S. B. WAKEMAN, still lives near this village; several grandchildren, however, live in this village or vicinity; Peter JONES, J. S. HUNTER, Urial TURNER, Noah and Amos ROBINSON, SEARS, ODLONG, David and S. G. WILLIAMS, SAVAGE, Hiram and Samuel CLOCK, GODARD, HOWELL, DUMONT, PELTON, JAGER, POST, N. B. SMITH, ELLECK, TICHENOR, PRATT, BURR, LEWIS, VALENTINE, KING, a large family, of whom there are many representatives still living in the immediate vicinity of the village. CAMPBELL and BARDWELL were also familiar names seventyfive years ago. Loyd DORSEY was the first colored man to vote in this town; he is still hale and hearty. BARTO, Daniel and Judge Henry D., were prominent in the affairs of the town and county in an early day, and descendants of both still live here. Judge BARTO lived for many years in the house now owned and occupied by Mrs. Mary QUIGLEY. His son, Henry D., succeeded to his legal business, and with J. D. SMITH, as BARTO & SMITH, continued to practice law until Mr. BARTO retired to found the H. D. BARTO & Company's Bank.

Turning now to the civil history of this old town, we find that when Onondaga county was set off from Herkimer, March 5, 1794, the same act created the towns of Marcellus and Ulysses. The latter at that time contained what are now the towns of Dryden, Ithaca, Enfield and Ulysses, and embraced the military townships of Dryden and Ulysses. On the 8th of March, 1799, Cayuga county was erected, and the town of Ulysses was included in its limits.
At a town meeting held April 4, 1800, it was agreed upon that the town of Dryden should be set off from Ulysses; but the vote on the measure was not taken until the first Tuesday in March, 1802, and the act of Legislature erecting Dryden was not passed until February 22, 1803.

At a special town meeting held May 11, 1804, it was voted that that part of the town of Ulysses east of the inlet be set off and annexed to the town of Milton, Cayuga county.

On the 29th of March, 1804, Seneca county was erected from Cayuga, Ulysses constituting a part of the new county, and it so remained until April 17, 1817, when Tompkins county was organized from Cayuga and Seneca counties. On the 16th of March, 1821, Ithaca and Enfield were taken from Ulysses, reducing the town to its present limits.

In the act of 1794 which erected this town, it was ordered that the first town meeting should be held at the house of Peter HYMNPOUGH," in said town. The first record of a town meeting, taken from the town book is as follows:

At the annual town meeting held on Tuesday the 7th day of April, 1795, at the house of Peter HYMNPOUGH, in Ulysses, agreeable to publick notice given for that purpose, the appointment of town officers are as follows: Andrew ENGLISH, supervisor; Abram MARKLE, town clerk; Andrew ENGLISH, Isaac PATCHIN, Wm. VANNORMAN, assessors; Joseph WESTON, constable and collector; Peter HYMNPOUGH, Philip TREMAN and Jas, SMITH, commissioners of highways; Nathaniel DAVENPORT and Rob't McDOWEL, overseers of the poor: Peter DEMOND, Rich'd GOODWIN, Henry DAVENPORT, overseers of highways; John YAPLE and Wm. VANNORMAN, fenceviewers; Richard McDOWEL, poundmaster.

The meeting took into consideration the recommendation from the last board of supervisors, respecting the assessment of taxable property and other matters, which the meeting voted to receive, except the article concerning the destruction of wolves. It was voted by said meeting that hogs should run free commoners as long as they behave well; but when they do damage, where is good fence, they must be yoked and the damage prized by the fenceviewers, and paid by the owners.

Recorded this 9th day of April, 1795.

Abram MARKLE, Town Clerk.

The following jury list is worthy of preservation, as indicating many of the prominent dwellers in the town at an early date. It is known that ten or more of those named lived within the limits of the present town:

A return of persons residing and in the town of Ulysses, and county of Onondaga, qualified to serve as jurors, agreeable to the statute passed April 3, 1798: Cornelius DAVENPORT, farmer; Richard GOODWIN and Richard GOODWIN 2d, farmers; Jesse HARRIMAN, farmer; Jabez HAMNER, farmer; Abram JOHNSON, shoemaker; Francis KING, farmer; Abram MARKLE, esq.; Henry MARKLE, farmer; Robert McDOWEL, farmer; Henry McLALLEN, farmer; John McLALLEN, farmer; Benjamin PELTON, farmer; David SMITH, farmer; Joseph S. SYDNEY, yeoman; Abner TREMAN, farmer; Jonas WHITING, farmer; Geo. BRUSH; Wm. S. BURCH, farmer; Jacob KOYKENDALL, blacksmith; Jas. CURRY, wheelmaker; Eliakim DEAN, carpenter; Nathaniel DAVENPORT, farmer.

Recorded this first day of September, 1798.

Abram MARKLE, Town Clerk.

Following is a list of the supervisors of this town from its organization to the present time:

1795. Andrew ENGLISH.
1796-99. Abram MARKLE.
18004. Jonas WHITING.
1805. Cornelius HUMPHREY.
1806. Jonas WHITING.
1807-12. Archer GREEN.
1813. Robert RUHEY.
1814-15. Nicoll HALSEY.
1816. Archer GREEN.
1817. John SUTTON.
1818. Nicoll HALSEY.
1819. William R. COLLINS.
1820. John SUTTON.
1821-26. Nicoll HALSEY.
1827-29. John THOMPSON.
1830-38. Daniel BOWER.
1839-41. John M. MILLER.
1842-44. Alex. BOWER.
1845. William J. STONE.
1846-48. Alex. BOWER.
1849. Lewis W. OWEN.
1850. W. C. WOODWORTH.
1851. Thomas BOWER.
1852. Aaron B. DICKERMAN.
1853. William C. WOODWORTH.
1854. Aaron B. DICKERMAN.
1855-56. Henry B. CHASE.
1857-60. Levi H. OWEN.
1861. A. M. HOLMAN.
1862-65. Lyman CONGDON.
1866. William PIERSON.
1867. Alex. BOWER.
1868. Levi H. OWEN.
1869. Henry B. CHASE.
1870. L. H. OWEN.
1871-73. Thomas BOWER.
1874. Alfred B. WOODWORTH.
1875-77. J. Parker KING.
1878. Horace G. COOPER.
1880. J. Parker KING.
1881. Horace G. COOPER.
1882. Horace A. BOWER.
1883-4. Levi J. WHEELER.
1885. Albert H. PIERSON.
189__. Edward CAMP.

Following is a list of the principal town officers for 1894: Jarvis GANOUNG, supervisor, Ithaca; Francis M. AUSTIN, town clerk, Trumansburgh; Frank TERRY, collector, Waterburg; Henry HUTCHINGS, justice of the peace, Waterburg; Seneca SPICER, constable, Trumansburgh; Samuel FRAZIER, constable, Trumansburgh; Adelbert J. KRUM, constable, Jacksonville; Stephen BAKER, constable, Ithaca.

The pioneers of Ulysses, like those of most other localities in the county, made early arrangements for the education of their children. The first action in reference to public schools was taken on the 21st of June, 1796. A meeting was held for the purpose of choosing a committee and trustees, resulting as follows: Robert McDOWELL, Jeremiah JEFFREY, Daniel TURRELL, commissioners of schools; Robert McLALLEN, William VAN ORMAN, trustees.

The first record found relating to the erection of a school house speaks of it as having been built of logs at Trumansburgh, and Stephen WOODWORTH was the teacher.

Previous to 1803 there was a block school house at Jacksonville, and Elisha NYE, of Aurora, was teacher.

The following is of interest in this connection:

This is to certify that there is due to the town of Ulysses the sum of five pounds eight shillings and fourpence three farthings out of the money granted to the county of Onondaga by the Supervisors of the State of New York, for the use of schools for the year 1795, as witness our hands and seals this 31st of May, 1796.

Silas HALSEY, Comfort TYLER, Ebenezer BUTLER, Benijah BOARDMAN, Elijah PRICE, Samuel TYLER, John STOYEL, and John TILLOTSON, Supervisors of the County of Onondaga.

Recorded this 10th day of April, 1799.

Abram MARKLE, Town Clerk.

The town was redistricted in 1813, in consonance with an act of the Legislature of the previous year. There have been various changes in the districts since that time.

The prosperity and peace of this town were undisturbed for many years prior to the breaking out of the bloody conflict for the preservation of the Union. In that historical struggle the people of Ulysses as a whole evinced the most enthusiastic patriotism and were among the foremost in providing men and means in aid of the threatened government. A general account of the measures adopted in the County at large during the war has already been given, and it only needs to be added here that Ulysses sent one hundred and seventynine men to the front, besides thirty-two who were enlisted and mustered into the service in January, 1865. These heroes many of them rest in honored graves; many still live with the scars of battle upon them, and many won distinction on the field and gained deserved promotion.

STATISTICS.The number of acres of land in Ulysses, as shown by the report of the Board of Supervisors for 1893, is 19,818. The assessed value of real estate, including village property and real estate of corporations, was $1,061,000. Total assessed value of personal property, $212,310. Amount of town taxes, $6,517.33. Amount of county taxes, $3,408.47. Aggregate taxation, $13,341.33. Rate of tax on $1 valuation, $0.011. Corporations: N. Y. & P. Telegraph and Telephone Company, assessed value of real estate, $750.50; amount of tax, $8.25. G., I. & S. Railroad Company, $49,000, and P. & R. Railroad Company Telegraph, $1,000; amount of tax, $550.

Within the past ten years the farmers of Ulysses have engaged extensively in cutting and marketing hay, paying less attention than formerly to grain growing. There is still a large quantity of fruit produced, and within a few years past the raising of grapes has been engaged in quite extensively.

The Union Agricultural and Horticultural Society of Ulysses and Covert was organized August 1, 1858; Hon. Truman BOARDMAN, president; Lewis PORTER, vice-president; Joseph H. BIGGS, secretary; Frederick S. DUMONT, treasurer; J. De Mott SMITH, clerk. This society has continued since with average prosperity and has been of great benefit to the agricultural interests of this region. The principal officers at the present time are Dixon H. McNETTEN, president; Caleb WIXOM, vice-president; R. J. HUNT, secretary; Horace A. MOSHER, treasurer.

TRUMANSBURGH VILLAGE.

This pretty and progressive village is situated in the northwestern part of the town, on both sides of the Trumansburgh Creek. The first settler here was Abner TREMAN 1 , who came from Columbia county in 1792. He was a Revolutionary soldier and drew for his services lot No. 2, 640 aces, comprising a strip of land about threequarters of a mile wide and about two miles long, on which the present village is located. With Mr. TREMAN came his brotherin-law, John McLALLEN, and in the next year Jesse HARRIMAN purchased of Mr. TREMAN 100 acres on the western part of the village site. McLALLEN purchased a piece of land of Mr. TREMAN and built a log structure, in which he opened a public house, and the place for some years was known as "McLALLEN's Tavern;" it was also called "TREMAN's Village," and finally took its present name of Trumansburgh from the TREMAN family, members of which had formerly adopted the name of TRUMAN.2

There was excellent water power in the creek and Mr. TREMAN began operations for building a mill very soon after his arrival, as previously related. His mill was constructed of logs with a stone foundation on three sides, the fourth being formed by the native rock. It contained only one run of stones and no elevators or conveyors. This old log mill was replaced by the present structure. Mr. TREMAN died in Mecklenburg, August 23, 1828, and the reader will find an extended account of him and his descendants in the later pages of this work.

When John McLALLEN came to Trumansburgh he was only nineteen years old and acted as teamster for Mr. TREMAN. His first tavern was on or adjoining the lot occupied by the BENNETT livery stable. He married Mary KING, probably the first marriage in the village, and reared a large family of children. His son James became a merchant; David, another son, was a physician, and Edward was a civil engineer and prominent in the militia. Descendants of John McLALLEN (some of whom spell the name McCLELLAN) have been numerous and conspicuous in the history of this town, as will further appear, and some of them are still resident in the town.

John McLALLEN's log cabin stood near the present residence of E. H. HART, and in that locality he was engaged in clearing land. His brother Henry was associated with him in the work and lived in Jessie HARRIMAN's cabin. Wild animals were numerous and a few of the remaining Indians came to the settlement, sometimes frightening the more timid by their demands for a sleeping place; but they were harmless. Henry McLALLEN remained on the farm, having bought out the interest of his brother, and he afterward purchased the Waterburg Mills.

The little settlement around TREMAN's Mills increased in numbers, and in 1801, or 1802, the first store was opened by Robert HENSHAW; it stood about where the Travis HOPKINS house is located, and a large business for the time and place was soon transacted there. Although the little place was about two miles from the lake, most of the merchandise and products came and went by water, until the comparatively recent building of the railroad; and the commercial importance of the location soon attracted attention.

VIn 1810 seven commissioners were appointed to explore the region between the lakes and the navigable waters of the Hudson River, and report upon the most eligible route for a water communication. De Witt CLINTON, being one of the commission, kept a private journal, which has since been published. He visited this place, and says: "We dined at TREMAN's village, so called from the soldier who owns the lot for military services. He resides here, and is proprietor of the mills, and in good circumstances. The village has several houses, three taverns, and two or three stores and mills in a ravine or hollow formed by a creek which tuns through it. It is in the town of Ulysses, and was formerly called Shin Hollow by some drunken fellows, who on the first settlement frequented a log cabin here, and on their way home broke their shins on the bad roads. Dr. COMSTOCK and another physician reside here.

The contemplated turnpike from Ithaca to Geneva will pass through this place. We dined here at CRANDALL's tavern. From here to Ithaca it is eleven miles, and the road is extremely bad, except four miles from the former village. We passed through an uncommonly fine wood of pine trees.

It may be presumed that the pioneers of Trumansburgh were men and women of considerable culture and certainly were possessed of a desire to improve their intellectual opportunities, for in 1811 the Ulysses Philomathic Library was incorporated. The members of this association met on the second Tuesday in June, 1811, at the inn of Michael SNELL and elected the following trustees: Abner TREMAIN (as it appears in the records), Samuel INGERSOLL, jr., Minor THOMAS, Henry TAYLOR and Cornelius HANLEY. Stephen WOODWORTH was chairman of this meeting. This association prospered. H. CAMP was the first librarian; Henry TAYLOR was the first chairman, and O. C. COMSTOCK the first treasurer. As showing the names of some other early residents of prominence, the officers' names for the year 1812 were Isaac STILLWELL, chairman; and Abraham HAND, Nathaniel AVERS, Alexander BOWER, Nicoll HALSEY and Don C. BUELL, trusteees. The meeting for that annual election was held in Mr. CAMP's store. The society existed until 1839, when its property was sold at auction. The last board of officers were John CREQUE, chairman; James McLALLEN, secretary; Lyman STROBRIDGE, James McLALLEN, John CREQUE, James WESTERVELT, E. J. AYERS, Henry TAYLOR, N. AYERS, Urial TURNER and Lewis PORTER.

In 1818 one of the oldest Masonic lodges in this section was chartered at Trumansburgh. Eight men of that order petitioned the Grand Lodge, and the charter bore the date of June 8, 1818, and the lodge was given the name of Fidelity. The first Master was Henry TAYLOR; Edward ELY, Senior Warden; Zach. P. SMEED, junior Warden; Horace OSBORN Treasurer; Elijah H. GOODWIN, Secretary. Later it was thought advisable to remove the charter of the lodge to Ithaca. In 1849, after the decline of antiMasonry, the Grand Lodge was petitioned for a return of the charter, but a new one was granted instead. It is Trumansburgh Lodge No. 157. The present officers are as follows: Lyman F. SMITH, Master; E. E. SCRIBNER, Senior Warden; C. C. SEARS, junior Warden; James G. McLALLEN, Secretary; Clinton HORTON, treasurer; O. G. NOBLE, Senior Deacon; John WIXOM, junior Deacon; N. R. GIFFORD, Tiler.

Fidelity Chapter R. A. M., No. 77, of Trumansburgh, is a prosperous organization, with the following officers: R. J. HUNT, High Priest; H. A. MOSHER, King; B. F. TOMPKINS, Scribe; T. A. SWICK, Captain of Host.

VILLAGE INCORPORATION AND FIRE DEPARTMENT.

It has already been intimated that Trumansburgh was somewhat backward in early years in providing for the extinguishing of fires, and the village suffered accordingly. An engine had been purchased previous to the great fire of 1864, but it had been neglected and little was done towards keeping up any organization for its use.

In the spring of 1872 a meeting was held for the purpose of effecting a better organization of a fire department. A discussion of the subject led to a village canvass by J. K. FOLLETT, to ascertain public feeling regarding the incorporation of the village under the General Act. Sentiment appeared to be in favor of the measure, and the necessary steps were so promptly taken that the first corporation election was held August 27, 1872. The following officers were elected: J. D. LEWIS, president; C. P. GREGG, P. W. COLLINS, G. H. STEWART, trustees; W. H. TEED, collector; C. P. BARTO, treasurer.

Proper notice was given of the projected formation of a fire department and a meeting was called at LOVELL's Hall, September 11, 1872, at which John N. HOOD presided and H. M. LOVELL was secretary. An organization was at once effected and the following were elected as the first officers of the new company: J. K. FOLLETT, foreman; N. R. GIFFORD, first assistant; John McL. THOMPSON, second assistant; H. M. LOVELL, secretary; J. N. HOOD, treasurer. Mr. LOVELL resigned in October and M. C. GOULD was elected to the vacancy. The date of the annual meeting was fixed for December at which all these officers were reelected for one year. Ira M. DEAN was made chief engineer, and G. W. WARNE and C. B. DOUGLASS pipemen. The succession of the foremen of the company has been as follows: J. K. FOLLETT, 18724; C. W. MOORE, 1875 to April, 1876, when he resigned on account of ill health, and G. W. WARNE was promoted from first assistant and held the office to December 20, 1876; C. F. HUNTER, 18778; John DAILEY, 187980; E. H. TALLMADGE, 1881; Matt CULLY, 1882; C. F. HUNTER, 1883; R. B. HILL, 1884: R. H. STEWART, 1885; G. P. BECKER, 188687; R. B. HILL, 1888; George P. BECKER, and Edward CAMP.

The present officers (1894) are as follows: Foreman, Edward CAMP, first assistant, Florence FISH; second assistant, Charles ROLLINS; corresponding secretary, C. L. ADAMS; financial secretary, W. L. HALL; treasurer, M. T. WILLIAMSON; engineer, Eri MANNING; trustees, A. J. HOWLAND, R. J. HUNT, E. R. WILLIAMS, H. A. MOSHER, C. L. ADAMS.

In 1882 a social club of young men of the village determined to form themselves into an independent hose company and offer their services to the village authorities. A meeting was held in July and an organization perfected, with the following officers: Will JONES, foreman; Charles LISK, assistant; R. V. BARTO, secretary; W. F. CREQUE and G. H. ALMY, treasurers. The succession of foremen of this company has been as follows: Will JONES, 188285; G. H. ALMY, 18867; J. C. WHEELER, 1888; W. F. CREQUE, 1889.

The officers for 1894 are as follows: Foreman, Isaac HOLTON; first assistant, H. C. GREGG; second assistant, George COMFORT; recording secretary, Henry JEWELL; financial secretary, R. D. SEARS; treasurer, J. K. WHEELER.

At the second meeting of the Board of Trustees measures were adopted to procure hose and other fire apparatus, but the formal organization of the fire department did not take place until November, 1872, when an engine and a hook and ladder company were accepted by the board. J. N. HOOD was subsequently appointed chief engineer, and Charles CLAPP, assistant engineer of the department. In 1879 a special election was held to vote upon the proposition to build an engine house.

In 1874 a board of engineers was organized and held their first meeting on May 25. The members were S. R. WICKES, chief engineer; J. K. FOLLETT, first assistant. John VAN DUYN, J. K. FOLLETT, and Ira C. JOHNSON were appointed by the trustees as a fire committee, and D. H. AYRES was made clerk of this board, and M. A. BURDICK, fire warden.

In September of that year the following were appointed a fire police: A. H. PIERSON, D. J. FRITTS, D. C. QUIGLEY, G. H. STEWART, R. C. TOMPKINS, J. R. EMERY, S. A. SHERWOOD, Lewis GOODYEAR and Walter BURR. D. S. BIGGS succeeded Mr. WICKS as chief engineer, and the following have served as chiefs of the department: A. P. CODDINGTON, J. T, HOWE, E. HOLCOMB, S. C. CONDE, J. C. KIRTLAND, R. H. STEWART, E. S. STEWART, G. P. BECKER, G. H. ALMY, M. R. BENNETT, W. I. SHERWOOD.

The following persons have served as presidents of the village since the incorporation: J. T. HOWE, elected 1813; E. C. GREGG, 1874; John VAN DUYN, 187576-77; J. D. BOUTON, 187879; Truman BOARDMAN 188081; John C. KIRTLAND, 1882; F. D. BARTO, 1883; H. L. STROBRIDGE, 1884; John C. KIRTLAND, 1885; O. M. WILSON, 1886; L. W. CARPENTER, 1887 resigned before qualifying, and H. A. MOSHER appointed to the vacancy; R. H. STONE, 1888; L. E. DAKE, 1889; Edward CAMP, 1890; Samuel ALMY, 189192; Frederick C. BIGGS, 1893.

The officers of the village for 1894 are as follows: Ezra YOUNG, president; Edward MURPHY, George A. HOPKINS, Edwin P. BOUTON, trustees; A. P. OSBORN, clerk.

SCHOOLS.

The first school in Trumansburgh was established about 1800. It was a private enterprise and was short lived. The first public school building was on or near the site of E. M. CORCORAN's present store. Some time in the twenties this building was sold and moved to the extreme east end of the village and a new twostory school building built on McLALLEN's Hill. As the village grew this became too small, and the district was divided and another building erected next to what is now the agricultural works of Samuel ALMY.

About 1844 the districts were reunited and the Union School House was built. This in ten years became inadequate to the growing needs of the community, and a meeting was called June 29, 1854, to take into consideration the establishment an academy and erecting a suitable building. A committee was appointed, and the matter was decided favorably.

Hermon CAMP was chosen first president. Subscriptions were obtained, and, September 5, 1854, a building was commenced. School was opened October 9, 1855. William WHITTEMORE, a graduate of Yale College, was chosen principal, and Miss Felicia A. FRISBEE, a graduate of Mount Holyoke, as assistant. Mr. CAMP retained his position as president until March, 1878, when Hon. Truman BOARDMAN was elected.

The Union Free School was established in School District No. 1, of Ulysses and Covert, by a vote of the inhabitants at a meeting held in school house at Trumansburgh, June 11, 1878.

At a later meeting, the Union School in Trumansburgh having been, by a vote of the district, changed to a free school, an academic department has been established by the Board of Education.

The original stockholders, or their representatives, have transferred to the district their interest in the property long known as the Trumansburgh Academy, making of the building and grounds, the philosophical apparatus and library, a free gift to the district.

It is proposed to establish in the building thus acquired a school which, in connection with the free school, shall give to the scholars of the district, and to such foreign scholars as may choose to avail themselves of its privileges, such advantages as will be commensurate with the age in which we live and in keeping with the advancement of the community in all respects.

The faculty is as follows: Daniel O. BARTO, principal; Mrs. Daniel O. BARTO, assistant; Grammar School, Miss M. E. SWARTWOOD, intermediate department; Miss Louise HEDGER, primary department.

Thus it followed that the academy and Union School, although in two buildings, were one and practically the same. The system, although inconvenient in many respect, was in the main satisfactory; yet it was becoming more and more evident that even with increased facilities the accommodations were inadequate, and it was becoming something of a problem as to the future. Accident, however, ever, furnished the solution, for on February 17, 1892, the old academy was burned to the ground. On April 7, 1892, at a school meeting called for the purpose, it was resolved to build a new school building, and on June 25 the Board of Education advertised for bids.

This resulted in the building of the present edifice, at a cost of $20,000, which is perhaps as complete a building for the purpose as can be found in Central New York. This structure is dimensions 100 by 60 feet, two stories high, supplied with a perfect system of heating and ventilating apparatus, and has a capacity of over 400 pupils. The old Union School building has been sold and all departments are now under on roof.

The present Board of Education is B. F. TOMPKINS, Henry RUDY, jr., Albert F. MOSHER, Richard H. STONE, Levi J. WHEELER, Chauncey D. GREGG, M. Truman SMITH.

Officers of the board: Levi J. WHEELER, president; M. T. WILLIAMSON, secretary; Jonah T. HOWE, treasurer; M. T. WILLIAMSON, collector.

Faculty: E. Ernest SCRIBNER, principal, Greek, mathematics, sciences, and Teachers' Class; Miss Clara CHAPMAN, preceptress, Latin, German and literature; Miss Ada WEATHERWAX, assistant principal, French, English, mathematics, and Teachers' Class; Miss Edla GREGG, music and painting; Miss Anna HART, Grammar School; Miss Lena WAGNER, junior department; Miss Eva FARR, intermediate department; Miss Sara K. BRADLEY, primary department,

Under the present management the school has attained a high degree of excellence, and although the expense was something of a burden on a small taxpaying community, no one now regrets the outlay. The standard of scholarship has been raised to a most satisfactory degree, owing largely to the efforts of the principal and faculty, whose every effort art in this direction has as been promptly seconded by the board. The influence of this school is now reaching far into the surrounding country, and the number of foreign scholars is constantly increasing.

Trumansburgh has suffered severely from several fires, the most disastrous of which took place on February 22, 1864. Before giving an account of this conflagration, we will quote from the Free Press pamphlet the following description of the place as it appeared just before the fire.

It is within the memory of those now living when Main street presented a straggling and exceedingly uninteresting aspect; there was no uniformity either in architecture or grade; every one built is it seemed to him best. The street west of the bridge previous to 1864 was several feet lower than at present, although it had been filled in several times; yet it was at that time so low that it was seldom dry. Up to the time when the corner now occupied by the CAMP Block was built upon, the dam covered most of the ground covered by that building, and at times even in midsummer there was sufficient water to afford young America opportunity to indulge in aquatic sport. Crossing the dam on the site of the present stone bridge was a wooden structure of not more than onehalf the width of the street and raised so high above the grade on each side a; to amount to quite a formidable hill, and yet its upper surface was much lower than now. All that portion of the street between the bridge and the foot of the McLALLEN Hill has been raised from eight to twelve feet, and the buildings on either side which are now on grade have in many instances their cellars where the original structures had their first story, and even this story was reached by a long flight of steps from the board sidewalk below. Going east from the bridge the street was divided nearly in half from a point in front of the PAGE Block to the corner of Elm street by a wall, the south side of which was filled in to make a driveway to the residence of H. CAMP, the building now occupied by J. D. BOUTON, leaving a narrow roadway for ordinary traffic. The turnpike from McLALLEN's store northwest made a bend several rods further to the north than the present roadway, passing but a few feet from the James McLALLEN homestead. This hill was very steep, and with the depression at its foot gave the brick store the appearance of being on a hill, as in fact it was, compared to the street below. It was not an unusual occurrence during the season of high water in the creek to see the street between the bridge and the hill submerged to the depth of several feet and remain so for several days. At almost all times the slack water from the dam extended as far as where BENNETT's livery barn now stands, and during the spring floods the slightest gorge of ice in the dam flooded the whole lower part of the town. In 1843 the Baptist Society decided to build a new church, and the old one was sold to Abner TREMAN, who moved it on the corner lot now occupied by the CAMP Block. The building was partially over the water and it was not until several years after that a substantial foundation was put under the east side. The property was sold several times, and finally fell into the hands of David TREMBLEY, who added another store on the east overhanging the dam. At the time of the great fire, on Feb. 22d, 1864, this building was owned by Lyman MANDEVILLE, and as this conflagration removed all the ancient landmarks from this corner to the Presbyterian church, a description of the burned district as it then existed will be interesting. The corner store where the fire started was occupied by WOODWORTH & BOWERS, the next room east was used by them as a storeroom, then came the harness shop of J. S. HUNTER. The first building across the creek was the harness shop of MOSHER & KELLY; this was on the lot now occupied by the OSTRANDER building; Dr. CLOUGH had his dental rooms in the second story. John Eber THOMAS had a meat market next door. Next came a building occupied by Mrs. W. H. TEED as a dressmaking shop; adjoining this was the saloon and restaurant of W. H. TEED, who also had his residence in the second story and in the rear; then followed the cabinet shop of Fayette WILLIAMS. The first floor of the next building was occupied by John BLUE as a jewelry store, and the second story by Dr. L. HUGHEY as an office and residence; next was the dwelling of Francis CREQUE. The saloon kept by Thomas SARSFIELD came next, and on the corner stood a dwelling owned by S. G. WILLIAMS and occupied by Thomas SARSFIELD; just below on the mill road was the blacksmith shop and residence of Samuel WILLIAMS. On Union street the first building from the corner was the shoe shop of Thomas WELLS. The next building had a blacksmith shop on the first floor run by a Mr. SNOW, a soninlaw of David TREMBLEY, who had a paint shop in the second story; then came CREQUE's foundry. Continuing up the hill, the next building was used by John CREQUE, jr., as a tin shop; then a dwelling house occupied by Jacob CREQUE; a house owned by H. CAMP and occupied by Jerry JOHNSON, and the WOLVERTON house. The first building east of the mill road and on Main street was a dwelling and saloon occupied by Peter LETTS; the next was the furniture and undertaking warerooms of C. P. BANCROFT; the building occupied the lot where the stores of W. A. FULLER and E. CORCORAN now stand; there was also a millinery shop in the upper story. MOSHER & BURCH had a general store where the STEWART building now stands; next came the residence and store of J. R. EMERY, on the same lot now occupied by him; WICKES's drug store, and millinery shop kept by Esther STEWART, a dressmaking shop by Misses JONES & HOAG were next. There were also a couple of small buildings between this block and the Dr. Lewis HALSEY homestead; a large brick house owned and occupied at this time by David TREMBLEY; next to this was the Union House and barns; then the brick store of S. ALLEN; a small building formerly occupied by Eliphlet WEED, esq., and later by Charles LYON as a shoe shop, but at the time of the fire it was a millinery store; then came the dwelling house and store of the QUIGLEYs, and next to the church stood the new house of D. C. QUIGLEY. With the exception of the ALLEN store, and residence of David TREMBLEY, all of these buildings were wood, and for the most part old, although in good repair; some of them had been altered over from residences into stores, and in some instances two had been united by a common front, introducing show windows, etc., giving the buildings a pretentious appearance not borne out by a more careful examination of premises.

The great fire was discovered about one o'clock in the morning of February 22, 1864, in the corner store, then occupied by J. S. HUNTER. There was no fire extinguishing apparatus of any kind in the village, the buildings were old and dry, and the flames spread rapidly. Lines of men and women were formed and buckets of water passed along to the devouring flames; but little impression was made upon the conflagration. Furniture and goods were removed in advance of the flames as far as possible. On Main street from the bridge to the Presbyterian church, and Elm street to the corner of Whig, the buildings were filled with household goods and merchandise, considerable of which was taken out to places of safety. Buildings were finally blown up in efforts to check the fire, and it looked at one time as if the fine church must go; but by heroic efforts it was saved. The heaviest loss was the destruction of the stone mill owned by J. D. BOUTON, which had then recently been refitted and improved. It was believed that the fire was the work of incendiary.

This was a hard blow to the village, but the lesson was a salutary one, and resulted in the large district burned over being promptly built up with a far better class of structures.

Most of the original owners either had no disposition or were unable to rebuild. On the subject being agitated the lots were eagerly sought for on account of the desirable location. The first change was the purchase of the Lyman STROBRIDGE lot by H. B. JONES. This was followed by the sale of the triangular lot between the STROBRIDGE lot and the dam to J. S. HUNTER, and the lot on the east owned by H. CAMP to Joseph H. BIGGS. Building was commenced on these lots during the summer and in the fall they were occupied. Then followed the building of the brick block on the hill. DUMONT bought the Union House lot and the TREMBLEY lot and erected two stores; WICKES rebuilt on. his lot; the QUIGLEYs built a store next door, and Titus HART built the store now occupied by J. S. HALSEY; J. R. EMERY rebuilt with wood on his original lot; Lyman A. MANDEVILLE sold the corner lot to H. CAMP, who also purchased from David TREMBLEY the adjoining lot on Union street and that portion of the lot which had been taken from the dam on the east, and erected the present building. Subsequently S. EARLE built his present store, having purchased from the BIGGSes a portion of their lot, and from Seneca DAGGETT all the ground now occupied by the engine house, which he afterward sold to the corporation of the village. It will be seen that with but two or three exceptions none of the original owners rebuilt. Mr. BOUTON rebuilt the mill, the community generously coming to his aid with substantial contributions.
Some two years after this fire, while some of the buildings were uncompleted, the sash, blind and door factory on Main street, on the lot now occupied by J. E. HALL's paint shop, was burned.

Money was plenty at this time and rebuilding went on rapidly. New structures were erected on Union street, in which old boundary lines were largely obliterated. The site of the first building above the furnace, owned by John CREQUE, is now covered by the PEASE block and adjoining structures. Morris SARSFIELD's store is on a piece of land bought by H. CAMP of David TREMBLEY. John VAN AUKEN's blacksmith shop and barn occupy part of the old Furnace lot. Asher WOLVERTON built on his original lot. The result of the fire was to change the whole aspect of the village cast of the bridge; but the alteration due to the next fire was still greater; the latter took place at two o'clock on the morning of May 22, 1871, starting in an alley between two stores. The buildings were of wood and there was little hope of saving them, while the Washington House, on the opposite side of the street, caught fire several times. After the flames had progressed for some time, some person suggested that the fire engine, which had been purchased several years earlier, should be brought into use. This was done, it being found stored in a barn, and it served to aid materially in checking the flames; but not until a terrible work of destruction had been accomplished. The territory burned over extended from the bridge to the shop of CUFFMAN & CLARK on the south, and from the Washington House corner to, and including, STONE & BIGGS's store on the south side of the street. The condition of this part of the village previous to the fire, and the changes wrought in the rebuilding, are thus described in the Free Press pamphlet:

Prior to that time,commencing at the bridge on the south side of the street, was the market of George WOLVERTON, a small wooden building remembered as the place where for many years Asher WOLVERTON had done business. Originally this building was set high above the street, partially overhanging the dam, and approached hy a flight of steps leading to a sort of platform. Next, and separated from it by a narrow alley, was the Bee Hive. This was built and owned by H. CAMP; it was of wood, three stories high, and derived its name from the large number and variety of occupations carried on within its walls. There were two stores on the ground floor which, at the time of the fire, were occupied by Jarvis STONE (who had just purchased the property), and Mrs. GILTNER, milliner. The upper floors were used as living rooms, photograph gallery, and a large room in the northwest corner of the third story had been used as a band room for many years. Next was an alley, the right of way of which belonged to WOLVERTON; next the store of Eber LOVELL, formerly the hardware store of Wm. G. GODLEY; next the store of ATWATER & TOMPKINS, owned by Clark DAGGETT; another covered alley in which also the WOLVERTONs held the title; then came the hardware store of PRATT, RUMSEY & ALLEN; this building was the original shop of Uriel TURNER, and had undergone many changes; a roof had been put on, uniting this with the building on the east, covering the alley; next west of the hardware was the old stand of John JAMIESON, but which at this time (1871) was occupied by PRATT, RUMSEY & ALLEN as a store room, and as a residence by John GREEN; then came a small building which had been fitted up as a saloon by A. V. BUSH; next to this was the building formerly owned by T. N. PERKINS and used as a marble works, but at this time occupied by B. P. SEARS as a grocery; next were the sheds of the Washington House barn; quite a space intervened between this and the blacksmith shop of DOUGLASS, with the livery stable of J. K. FOLLETT it the rear; then came the wagon shop of CUFFMAN & CLARK, with Fayette WILLIAMS occupying his present stand. On the opposite side of the street stood the Washington House; next the jewelry store of Jacob BLUE; the shoe and leather store of S. A. SHERWOOD, the store of Will. H. TEED, and the Home Building, a fine block extending to the brick store of STONE & BIGGS. The Home building was owned by Wm. H. TEED and J. L. STONE, and had three stores on the ground floor; the west one was occupied by Mr. LIEBERINAN as a clothing store, the center one as a bakery, and the cast one by Mrs. BANCROFT as a millinery store; W. A. FULLER lived in the second story, and the third was the Masonic Hall. Between this building and the store of HIMROD there had been an alley, wide in front and narrowing toward the rear; upon this lot Mr. TEED had erected the store which he was occupying at the time of the fire.

The blow to the town was a severe one, and for a time seemed to paralyze the sufferers, yet the vitality of our people once more exhibited itself, and within twenty-four hours a new building was in process of erection on the site of the DOUGLASS blacksmith shop by PRATT, RUMSEY & ALLAN, who occupied it until the present store of BIGGS & Co. was completed. In rebuilding the burned district history was repeated, old boundary lines were changed, lots were divided, portions of some added to others. George WOLVERTON bought of W. J. STONE the alley between the old stores and erected the building now used as a postoffice. W. J. STONE sold the west half of the Bee Hive lot to G. H. STEWART; F. B. STONE built on the east half the store now occupied by C. L. CHAPMAN; STEWART built a fine building on his lot, the west line of which is the center of the old alleyway which was surrendered by WOLVERTON. E. LOVELL's Sons built on their lot and the west half of the alley. Clark DAGGETT rebuilt, as did PRATT, RUMSEY & ALLEN. E. S. PRATT built on the JAMIESON lot, and A. V. BUSH on the PERKINS lot. The Washington House lot remained vacant for some time, and is now occupied by W. H. TEED, the Farmers' Inn, and the L. H. OWEN office. J. C. KIRTLAND built on the BLUE lot, and also erected a brick store for W. H. TEED, who sold his interest in the Home building lot to Mrs. C. P. GREGG, who in connection with J. L. STONE and D. S. BIGGS built the present Opera House Block. L. H. OWEN built an office and store house on the south side of the street, which, with a temporary building erected for a roller skating rink, was destroyed by fire on May 3, 1885. The building which occupied the site of the present PAGE Block was burned August 28, 1872.

MANUFACTURES.The early manufacturing operations in Trumansburgh, as well as in other parts of the town of Ulysses, were chiefly confined to the grist mills, saw mills, and the various shops in which wagons, boots and shoes, furniture, domestic tinware, etc., were produced. Several of these early industries have already been mentioned, and are described in later pages devoted to the other small villages of the town.

0f some of the early industries the writer of the Free Press pamphlet says:

Who has the honor of being the first metal worker to settle here is somewhat in doubt, but that David WILLIAMS found a blacksmith already at work is beyond question; but probably Mr. WILLIAMS was the first to engage in what might be called manufacturing. A man named HOLLIDAY built and for some years operated a furnace located on the flat just below BUSH's Hill. In 1812 a young Jerseyman named John CREQUE, a blacksmith by trade, attracted by the favorable report of the new country, shouldered his kit of tools and started on a tour of investigation. Some time previous to this a family of UPDIKEs, with whom he was connected, had moved into the country and founded what was known as the UPDIKE Settlement, a few mile south of this village, and as was quite natural Mr. CREQUE sought out his old acquaintance. He saw no opening for him in that immediate locality and decided to try his fortunes at the Holler, as Trumansburgh was then known. He had married a wife, Catharine UPDIKE, in 1808, who with his family of three children, the youngest a babe, he had left in New Jersey. After deciding to remain, be went back for his family, and on his return rented a disused building near where the house of Linus WARING now stands, and after making such repair, as was necessary for comfort moved in.

In those days blacksmiths were forced to do all manner of repairing of farm utensils. The plows then used were of wood, iron shod and steel pointed and made by blacksmiths. John CREQUE, who was a man of shrewd business capacity, heard of the first cast iron plows of Jethro WOOD at Wolcott. He made a visit there and arranged to buy castings of WOOD, which enabled him to also make the new plows. Soon afterward he joined his friend, Lyman STROBRIDGE, in partnership. They continued successfully in the business, buying their castings of WOOD until about 1832, when Mr. CREQUE built a furnace nearly on the site of the present residence of John VAN AUKEN. He put in a steam plant of primitive character, the engine having been made in Auburn prison. When his shop became too small Mr. CREQUE in 1836 built the furnace on the site of the first blacksmith's shop, which building was burned in the great fire of 1864. Besides Mr. STROBRIDGE, Mr. CREQUE had as partners at different periods, a Mr. HILDRETH, Benjamin BURGESS and his sons, Washington and James, who in 1854 rented the works for five years. They were succeeded by PERRIGO and KEELER, and William DOUGLASS and John VAN AUKEN. About the beginning of 1864 Washington and James CREQUE proposed to buy the property, but the great fire prevented the consummation of the arrangement. Mr. CREQUE died November 2, 1866.

The first mill by Abner TREMAN has been described. The fine water power of the creek naturally attracted early attention from the pioneers. Soon after 1800 a dam was built above the bridge at RIGHTMIRE's quarry, and at the end of the raceway on the west bank a saw mill was built. It was of great utility to the settlers in making lumber for early buildings. A short time afterward a grist mill was built near that point, and later a plaster mill just below. In 1835 apart of this property was converted into an oil mill, which was operated many years. Albert CAMPBELL built a dam above the one just described in early years, which supplied power to a small woodworking shop. About twenty rods above this John CAMPBELL built a saw mill, and still farther up Peter VAN DERVERE had another. The next site above was owned by John TREMAN, who built a factory for wool carding and cloth making, which was operated by Samuel SMITH; Allen PEASE purchased it later and changed it to a plaster mill. Just above this was A. B. DICKERMAN's tub and pail factory. Farther up still Mr. DICKERMAN had a saw mill, and next above that David WILLIAMS established a trip hammer shop, where most of the axes used about here were made; this was subsequently changed to a woolen factory; later clothmaking machinery was added, and a large business was carried on. TURNER, ANDREWS & Company had a similar establishment on or near the site of the store of BIGGS & Company; it was managed by Frederick BECKWORTH. There was another woolen mill at Podunk.

Besides all these early industries, there were numerous asheries in the vicinity, which for many years were a source of considerable income. H. CAMP probably had the first one soon after 1800. Albert
CRANDALL had one, and James McLALLEN another just west of the TREMAN House barn, which was at that time a tannery. It is said that between 1830 and 1850 more people in Trumansburgh were engaged in various industries than at any time since.

Sometime between 1820 and 1830 Jonathan TREMAN, son of the pioneer, Abner TREMAN, built for two mechanics, GRANT & LOCKWOOD, the main building of what is now the agricultural works of Samuel ALMY. The property became locally famous over quite a section as The Red Furnace, and during a half a century had various proprietors and met with periods of alternate success and failure. The original building was occupied early as a blacksmith shop in the basement, a wagon shop on the first floor, while David WILLIAMS lived in the upper story, and later William CHANDLER had a chair factory there. A succession of firms such as GRANT & STETSON, GRANT & CAMPBELL, GRANT & KING, and KING & LAMBERT succeeded that of GRANT & LOCKWOOD in blacksmithing, wagon work and building thrashing machines. GRANT & STETSON introduced a metal working lathe, and molding and casting, and a little later steam power was put in . Abram ANDRUS was then taken into the business to enlarge its capital, but his interest was soon purchased by McLALLEN & HESLER, who, with George T. SPINK and Stephen H. LAMPORT, formed a new firm. The next change was to the style of SPINK, LAMPORT & PEASE, Alvin PEASE coming in with additional means. Various other changes followed, during which George AUBLE, Milo VAN DUSEN, Daniel COOPER, a Mr. TOBEY, George CURRY, Emmet AYRES, William OGDEN and several others had more or less interest in the business. OGDEN's administration was succeeded by the firm of RUMSEY & ALMY, and this by RUMSEY, ALMY & HUNT. The present proprietor of the works, and who succeeded the last mentioned firm, is Samuel ALMY, who makes barrel hoops by special machinery, and has otherwise improved the property.

GRANT & LOCKWOOD and Urial TURNER were the pioneers in wagon making. Others who have been identified at different times with this interest are several of Mr. TURNER's sons, William and Joseph CREQUE, Abraham CREQUE, D. P. CUFFMAN, David TREMBLY, CUFFMAN, MOSHER & ROSE, MOSHER & BURCH, CUFFMAN & CLARK (J. G. CUFFMAN and John G. CLARK), CUFFMAN & Son, Alanson BEAN, Peter JONES, John AIKEN, Harvey POLLAY, M. CURRY, ALLEN & UHL, J. G. & D. C. CLARK, J. H. B. CLARK, William DOUGLASS; MOSHER, BENNETT & BATES, and MOSHER & BENNETT. Urial TURNER's shop was where BIGGS & Company's store is now situated, and was occupied by him and his successors many years. William CREQUE and his successors had their shop on the lot now occupied by Joseph DAVENPORT, carpenter, and MOSHER & BURCH afterward occupied the same building, which later on was changed to a door, sash and blind factory, and was burned. MOSHER & BENNETT occupy the buildings made vacant by the failure of ALLEN & UHL, and are now making platform spring wagons under CLARK's patent as a specialty, J. G. & J. H. V. CLARK occupy the building in wagon making and repairing.

One of the early harness makers was Lyman STROBRIDGE, whose settlement has been described. His first shop was on Union street, next to John CREQUE's blacksmith shop, and the two became firm friends and subsequently partners in manufacturing plows. In 1831 Mr. STROBRIDGE erected a building on Main street, on the lot now occupied by John KAUFMAN, where he carried on harnessmaking until his retirement in 1850. He was prominent in politics as a Democrat, a Free Soiler, and finally a Republican; was presidential elector in 1836; was in the Legislature in 1845, and was postmaster in 18489. His wife was Sarah POTTER, and they had four children. H. L. STROBRIDGE is his grandson.

Soon after the great fire of 1864 the GREGG Iron Works, which had been in operation at Farmer village, building agricultural implements, were removed to Trumansburgh, and during more than twenty years added largely to the prosperity of the place. A. H. GREGG was a member of the firm, and through financial difficulties E. C. GREGG, the father, and C. P. GREGG, brother of A. H. GREGG, took the machine shop part of the plant. They purchased the land where the works now stand, and in 1865 erected the present machine shop. After that additions were made as necessity demanded. The principal implement made was the Meadow King mower, but others were added, notably the OSBORN sulky plow, SHARPE horse rake, MORSE horse rake and lawn mowers. About 100 hands were usually employed. In 1887, owing to overproduction and the failure of several of their customers, the works were forced to assign, which they did, to S. D. HALLIDAY, of Ithaca. By consent of creditors he continued to operate the works. The assignee sold the property at public sale to Dr. G. W. HOYSRADT, of Ithaca, and from him it passed to the family of Mr. GREGG, and is still operated under the style of GREGG & Company.

The firm of J. W. & C. W. DEAN now operates a saw mill with general wood-working facilities attached, and a feed mill. L. H. GOULD also does a large business in a similar line. At and near Halseyville are two excellent flouring mills, both by the roller process, one conducted by Eugene DEWEY, and the other by W. D. BRINKERHOFF & Son.

The quarrying of stone for building and flagging is extensively carried on at Taghanic Falls by Homer RIGHTMIRE, who has a large mill for stone dressing, and by D. S. BIGGS & Sons. Cornelius COLLINS is postmaster at the Falls, the office having been established soon after the opening of the railroad.

POSTOFFICE.The first postmaster of Trumansburgh was Oliver C. COMSTOCK, who held the office from 1811 to 1813. He was succeeded by H. CAMP, who continued eighteen years, resigning in 1831, to be succeeded by James McLALLEN. The latter resigned in 1844, when for four years Lyman STROBRIDGE had the office. Sanford HALSEY was then appointed, and about a year later, in 1849, L. D. BENNETT was appointed and continued until June, 1853. He was succeeded by Benjamin ALLEN, who retired August 16, 1861, and was followed by A. G. STONE. He held the office until April, 1871, and was succeeded by S. R. WICKS, who retired in 1873. C. P. GREGG was his successor, who resigned the office to D. S. BIGGS. He was followed in July, 1885, by J. T. HOWE. R. J. HUNT took the office under HARRISON in March, 1890. Under the administration of D. S. BIGGS the office was made a presidential office. J. T. HOWE has recently been appointed postmaster.

CEMETERY. In 1847, when it became evident that the old burial ground, owned by the First Presbyterian church, was insufficient for the needs of the community, meetings were held to consider the subject of providing a new cemetery farther from the village center. At one of these meetings held May 24, 1847, the Grove Cemetery Association was organized with the following trustees, who afterwards became incorporators: Walker GLAZIER, George T. SPINK, William ATWATER, Nicoll HALSEY, F. S. DUMONT, James McLALLEN, John CREQUE, James H. JEROME, and N. B. SMITH. On the 20th of the same month the above persons appeared before Henry D. BARTO, county judge, and acknowledged the execution of the articles of incorporation, and at a meeting called soon after, Nicoll HALSEY was elected president; N. B. SMITH, secretary; and Walker GLAZIER, treasurer. The following August the association bought of Smith DURLING eight acres of land, for which they paid $85 per acre. This land was a part of the present beautiful cemetery, and has been greatly improved. In 1858 seven acres more were purchased, and other additions have since been made. In 1861 the Presbyterian Society made a proposition to the Cemetery Association for the latter to assume control of the burial ground, and the arrangement was subsequently effected; but the care of the grounds became a useless burden, interments there ceased, and in 1890 all the bodies were removed to the new cemetery. The present cemetery, with its beautiful landscape effects, a handsome receiving vault and other modern improvements, is an attractive and appropriate place for the repose of the dead. The officers for 1894 are Truman BOARDMAN, president; L. P. HAND, vicepresident; H. A. MOSHER, secretary; James K. WHEELER, treasurer; executive committee, H. A. MOSHER, Ephraim S. PRATT, Edward CAMP.

MERCANTILE BUSINESS.Mention has been made of the first store in Trumansburgh, kept by Robert HENSHAW at the beginning of the century. At that time Owego was a place of considerable importance, whence most of the supplies for the country between the lakes was received, and whither went much of the produce of this section. The firm of CAMP Brothers were the leading merchants of that place, and their business brought them a knowledge of McLALLEN's Tavern. In 1805 they made a prospecting visit in quest of a site where they might build up a large trade. The result was the purchase by them of Mr. HENSAW's store, which was placed in charge of Hermon CAMP, a younger brother of the firm. This event was an important one for the village of Trumansburgh. The ample capital of the firm, and the exceptional business ability of Hermon CAMP were powerful factors in building up the place. The old store soon became too contracted for the business and a new one was built, a part of which has been recently used for Charles THOMPSON's market. To this store additions were made from time to time, as increasing trade demanded, and in 1820 several clerks were employed, among whom was Daniel ELY. In 1823 a partnership was formed between Mr. CAMP and Mr. ELY.

The following account of Mr. CAMP's after life in Trumansburgh is taken from the pamphlet history of the place before alluded to:

In 1825 occurred the most important event of Mr. CAMP's life, namely, his separation and subsequent divorce from his first wife. The trial resulted in the political division of the town; two factions sprang into existence, old political lines were obliterated, and for many years candidates were nominated and elected on the basis of their position in the CAMPELY imbroglio. The feeling even extended into the jury box, and the animosities between former friends became as bitter as their friendships had been strong; this feeling was even handed down to the next generation, and even to this day, when it is believed that all the actors in this lamentable affair are in their graves, it has not been obliterated. A man of lighter caliber would have succumbed under the pressure; but a fixed purpose, an iron will, and a determination to live through and rise above social difficulties and alienation of friends was to him the stimulant for a more aggressive business policy. Mr. CAMP was no saint; he had his share of faults and social infirmities of primitive times. The moral code was not so well defined nor its provisions so well observed as at present; the country was still little better than a wilderness; society was in a chaotic state; might too often made right; practices which would not now be tolerated were common. Mr. CAMP simply adapted himself to his surroundings and made the most of his opportunities; he was no better nor worse than his fellows. He sold whisky as freely as molasses and with no more thought of committing a moral wrong; the use of one was as common as the other, and the man who did not drink was the exception, and he did not drink, at least to any extent. In those days all merchants kept a jug of whisky behind the counter which was free to customers, no sale was considered complete or barter consummated without the customary treat. Most drinkers are never so rich as when in their cups, and while reveling in imaginary wealth are prone to indulge in luxuries if they have the cashor credit. Alas! the poor man's credit was too often to his discredit, a day of settlement must come, and his rum courage and whisky wealth vanished into thin air. If Mr. CAMP profited by this condition of things, he certainly did no more than other merchants, but it must stand to his credit that he was also identified with the first temperance movement in this town. As early as 1830, at a meeting of the merchants and grocers called for the purpose, he heartily endorsed a proposition to abolish the treating custom. Five years before this a move had been made to stop the licensing of groceries, whether this emanated from the tavern keepers or citizens does not appear, but it is evident, even at this remote period, that Trumansburgh had troubles over the whisky question.

During the revival of 1831 Mr. CAMP was converted, and on February 6th of that year united with the Presbyterian Church on profession of faith. From this time in many respects he was a changed man. He resigned his position as postmaster rather than to obey the law of the department requiring the mails to he changed on Sunday; the lighthearted, openhanded, freethinking man became an austere and uncompromising Calvinist. He abandoned the sale of liquor and began the war against its use and sale which he fought to his dying day. He at once assumed, as if by right, a prominent position in the church and became its acknowledged leader, and he administered upon its affairs with the same uncompromising purpose which characterized him in business. He would brook no opposition; everything, must yield to his imperious will. He dealt with recreant members as with an unruly child; discipline and punishment swift and sure were certain to follow any infraction of the puritanical code which he had adopted. Such men as E. C. GREGG and Lyman STROBRIDGE must confess it a sin to ride in a wagon on Sunday in order to reach their families from whom they had been separated for weeks or be disciplined; they refused and left the church. Yet he was but following his nature, and in his heart believed he was doing God's service. He was active, persistent and consistent. He abstained from what he condemned in others, and there is no question but that to his skillful management of its affairs the Presbyterian Church owes much of its p resent prosperity. He gave his time and money without stint to deserving objects, he always being the judge. He prospered in business and waxed rich, built houses and stores, invested in stocks, was for many years president of the Tompkins County Bank. During the financial troubles of 1857, when all banks suspended specie payment, a mob of people collected in front of his house clamoring for their money. He came out to them demanding the cause of such a demonstration. We want our money, cried some. Go to your homes; you have my personal guarantee that every Tompkins County Bank bill you hold is good for its face in gold. They went. The bank might not be sound, but H. CAMP was, and his simple word better than their bond. Mr. CAMP was not an ostentatious bestower of charity, but he gave liberally to educational institutions, particularly to those for preparing young men for the ministry. He was instrumental in organizing the first temperance society called the Sons of Temperance, and in company with James McLALLEN circulated a temperance pledge through the village, making a personal application to every male person of suitable age in the place; this was in 1835. He subsequently became very active in the temperance movement, was for some years president of the State Temperance Society, and was spoken of as a candidate for governor on a prohibition ticket. He obtained his military title for services in the war of 181214, having raised the only cavalry company in the State. This company was recruited mostly from this and adjoining towns; the drilling ground was the then open field now occupied by the Phˆnix House and adjacent property. He marched his company to the Niagara River, which was the western frontier of the State, and did guard and picket duty along the river until close of the war. Although never in a general engagement, they were constantly harassed by stray shots from the river, and the writer well remembers an address made by Col. CAMP to the first volunteers from this town in 1861 in which he described his sensations when listening to the whistling of bullets from unseen British soldiers from the other side. He was a hearty supporter of the Union during the late war, rendering substantial aid to the soldiers and their families. Mr. Camp's second wife was Caroline COOK, who died in 1840; his third wife was Catharine COOK, who died in 1847; in 1848 he married Sarah P. CAMP, widow of his nephew Frederick M., who survives him. Mr. CAMP died June 8, 1879, aged ninety years and eight months.

It is manifestly impossible in this work to follow the varied mercantile interests of Trumansburgh in past years. As a rule, the business men of the place have been enterprising, and at the same time have traded on conservative lines and in many instances with the most gratifying success. The various stores in the place at the present time will compare favorably with those of any other similar village in the State. Such establishments as those conducted by Manning ATWATER, Ezra YOUNG, BIGGS & Co., MOSHER Brothers, Chapman & BECKER, MOSHER & SEARS, H. S. BATES, and others, are a credit to their owners, and render it needless for citizens to go elsewhere for needed supplies.

The BARTO Bank, organized in 1863, to which allusion has been made, closed its offices in 1889. Since 1885 the banking business of the town has been done by the private bank of L. J. WHEELER & Co., the company being James K. WHEELER.

Personal sketches and biographical notices of most of the prominent citizens of the town will be found in a later department of this work, to which the reader is referred.

HOTELS.As before stated, John McLALLEN kept the first public house in Trumansburgh. It was built of logs and a very primitive hotel in all respects. After a few years in this house be built a more pretentious structure on the opposite side of the street, which was called McLALLEN's Tavern. This was afterwards demolished to make room for the Union block.

Soon after 1800 a tavern was built on land including that now occupied by Owen FERGUSON and Mrs. S. EARLE. In 1811 this bore the name of SCHENCK's Tavern, when it was the political headquarters and general resort. Later it was known as the BOND's Hotel. In 1819, when the building was owned by Allen BOARDMAN and occupied by several tenants, some of whom had become obnoxious to their neighbors, it was demolished by a mob. The inmates escaped injury and fled.

As early as 1815 there stood on the site of the Cornell House a building which was afterwards remodeled by Dr. Lewis HALSEY and kept by him as a tavern called the Union House. He was succeeded by Gilbert HALSEY and perhaps a score of others, and the building was burned February 22, 1864. From this time to 1871 the lot was vacant, in which year it was sold by David S. DUMONT to Leroy TREMBLEY. On May 5, 1871, the second great fire occurred and the Washington House was burned. A building boom succeeded and hotels were conspicuous among the new structures. Leroy TREMBLEY was then keeping a restaurant in the building now occupied by Owen FERGUSON, which TREMBLEY sold to Hiram SAWYER. Mr. TREMBLEY was a veteran landlord and thought he saw a good opening for a hotel. He accordingly purchased the vacant lot owned by David S. DUMONT, as above stated, and on June 5, 1871, broke ground for the TREMBLEY House. The house was opened under promising auspices and was one of the finest hotels in the county, representing an investment of $30,000. In November, 1881, Charles PLYER became owner of the house; leased it to James H. BOWMAN, and the name was changed to Cornell. PLYER sold the property to a Mr. KENNEDY, of New York, who placed D. P. PETERS in charge, expecting to so run the house that it would soon be filled with guests. In this he failed, and a year later retired. The house then remained vacant to 1886, except a short period when J. H. COVERT was a tenant. KENNEDY finally sold the property to Mrs. M. J. BOWMAN for less than onefourth its original cost, and it is now kept as a firstclass public house.

In 1836 P. H. THOMPSON, who was a son-in-law of John McLALLEN, bought a piece of land on Main street nearly opposite the site of the first log tavern. There he erected what was perhaps the first brick hotel between Owego and Geneva. The formal opening of this house took place on the 4th of July, 1837, and was made an event of great local importance; but in spite of energetic management, Mr. THOMPSON did not meet with the success he had anticipated, and in 1846 the property was transferred to John MARKHAM. From this time on several landlords, among whom were Dr. Benjamin DUNNING, James RACE, James BRADLEY, William and Stephen DE MUND, William JONES, and others, tried the business, all probably losing money. In 1854 several attachments were issued against the property, leading to tedious litigation; J. De Motte SMITH was appointed receiver, and by the final decision of the Court of Appeals he was ordered to sell the property. He had already rented it to George HOYT, who retained it under the purchaser, David JONES. The entire property brought less than $2,000 at the sale. On January 24, 1863, the property was sold to Joseph GILES (who had kept a hotel at Havana) for Leroy TREMBLEY. A few years later Corydon BURCH purchased an interest, and the firm became TREMBLEY & BURCH. In 1867 TREMBLEY sold to Halsey SMITH, and BURCH to Almeron SEARS, who were in possession when the building was burned in the great fire of May 22, 1871. Mr. SEARS then purchased the John McLALLEN homestead and fitted it up for a hotel, which he and his son opened as The Phˆnix, and kept it until the following spring.

Immediately after the fire SEARS bought the old McLALLEN store, altered it materially, and fitted it up for a hotel. There was then developed a craze for building, and the fine business blocks of the village and the TREMBLEY and the Central Hotels were erected. Many of these structures proved to be in advance of the needs of the community, The Central Hotel, as it was named, did not pay, became involved in litigation, and passed rapidly under the management of half a dozen persons successively, and in 1881 was sold to Leroy TREMBLEY. He made the house popular and tolerably successful. June 6, 1887, it was partly burned. Soon afterward, as a result of negotiations with J. B. Hamilton, a shoe manufacturer of Farmer village, a company purchased the hotel of Mrs. TREMBLEY and furnished funds to start a shoe factory here. L. E. DAKE afterwards came into the firm, and the business was continued for a time and finally closed out.

In the spring of 1888 Mrs. TREMBLEY bought the Phˆnix Hotel, before mentioned, of A. V. McKEEL, refitted it, and has since conducted it as a temperance house.

In the summer of 1877 Hiram SAWYER purchased a lot of L. H. OWEN on Main street and built a twostory structure, which he occupied January 1 following. He gave it the name of Farmer's Inn, which he has conducted ever since.

Albert CRANDALL, who has been mentioned as a pioneer of 1806, built a structure in 1808 on Main street between the site of the BARTO Bank and J. D. BOUTON's residence, and in part or all of it kept a tavern many years. His son Minor was the landlord here for a time.

CHURCHES.

The first church in the town of Ulysses was of the Presbyterian faith and was organized January 10, 1803, A few families of this denomination had settled in the town from 1796 to 1800, among whom were Jabez HAVENS, Burgeon UPDIKE, David ATWATER and Cornelius HUMPHREY. The church organization took place at the house of Mr. ATWATER, when the four persons mentioned and their wives were constituted the First Presbyterian Church of Ulysses by the Rev. Jedediah CHAPMAN, a missionary who remained in charge two years. The first meeting house was built at the UPDIKE Settlement, about three miles south of Trumansburgh. It was of hewn logs, and twentyfive by thirtyfive feet in size. A burying ground was established adjoining the church, and there many of the pioneers were interred.

The first church in Trumansburgh village stood on the site of the present Presbyterian church, and was begun in 1817 and finished in the summer of 1819. In 1823 the first Sunday school was formed under the pastorate of Rev. M. M. York, by Dr. William White. Wm. HAY was the first superintendent, and Treman HALL, Francis E. CRANDALL and James McLALLEN were teachers. In 1848 the original church building was demolished, and the present structure was completed in January of the next year and dedicated January 10, 1850. The following pastors have served this church: The Rev. Mr. CHAPMAN was followed in 1805 by the Rev. Garrett MANDEVILLE: Rev. Wm. CLARK, 1810; Rev. John ALEXANDER, 1813; Rev. Stephen PORTER, 1816; Rev. Lot B. SULLIVAN, 1817, Rev. Charles JOHNSON, 1819; Rev. Wm. F. CURRY, 1825; Rev. John H. CARLE, 1826; Rev. Hiram L. MILLER, 1834; Rev. John H. CARLE, 1839; Rev. Hutchins TAYLOR, 1844; Rev. D. H. HAMILTON, 1855; Rev. Lewis KELLOGG, 1861, Rev. Alexander M. MANN, D.D., 1865; Rev. Wm. N. PAGE, 1869; Rev. Ova R. SEYMOUR, 1887; Rev. Reuben H. VAN PELT, 1888, who was succeeded the same year by Rev. Lee H. RICHARDSON, who was installed on January, 15, 1889. The church is now supplied by Rev. Dr. Wm. NILES.

The Baptist church at Trumansburgh was organized in the log meeting house at the UPDIKE Settlement August 26, 1819, under the name of " The Second Baptist Church of Ulysses"' as the town then included the town of Covert. The first clerk was Daniel BARTO, and Oliver C. COMSTOCK was the first pastor. Services were held in various places in the vicinity. In August, 1821, the pastor, then William WARD, with Josiah CLEVELAND and Allen PEASE were appointed a committee to meet other churches and form an association to be called The Seneca Baptist Association." Dr. O. C. COMSTOCK, while in Congress, became deeply interested in religion and on his return began preaching, continuing his medical practice at the same time. Under his ministrations the church increased in membership in eight years from twentysix to one hundred and eight. In 1824 a church building was erected on the site of the present structure. In 1846 it was removed to make way for a more commodious building, which was burned March 19, 1849. The present church was dedicated on the 6th of February, 1851. Dr. COMSTOCK was succeeded as pastor by Rev. Aaron ABBOTT in 1827, who remained until 1834. From that year until 1838 the pulpit was supplied until Rev. Wm. WHITE was licensed, but on January 1 of that year Rev. Thomas DOWLING succeeded, and the succeeding pastors have been Revs. P. SHEDD, 1836; Wm. LOCK, 1839; Howell SMITH, 1843; Mr. WOODWORTH as supply, and Rev. Wm. CORMACK to 1850, when C. L. BACON came; I. CHILD, 1865; D. COREY, 1866; G. A. STARKWEATHER, 1869; E. S. GALLOUP, 1874; J. J. PHELPS, 1877; D. D. BROWN, 1882; J. G. NOBLE, 1884; and Rev. J. B. FRENCH, 1886. The present pastor is Rev. R. W. McCULLOUGH.

In the spring of 1894 the church building was thoroughly repaired and refurnished. and rededicated March 4, 1894.

METHODIST CHURCHES. When in 1828 Rev. Alvin TORREY, a Methodist preacher, was laboring in this vicinity, he was urged by the people of Trumansburgh to extend his work to this field. Gen. Isaiah SMITH was foremost in this movement. Mr. TORREY accordingly organized a class in Kingstown, now in the town of Covert, which was visited by various preachers from time to time, some of whom came to this neighborhood where they were assisted by Alexander COMSTOCK and Richard GOODWIN. On the 4th of January, 1831, a meeting was held in Trumansburgh to effect a church organization, with Rev. Wm. JONES as moderator. Josiah SMITH, R. M. PELTON, Frederick M. CAMP, John WAKEMAN, James McLALLEN, F. S. DUMONT and Abner TREMAN were chosen trustees, and James McLALLEN clerk. These men were not all Methodists, and some were not members of any church. A lot was soon purchased from Mr. TREMAN, and a church building costing $1,800 was finished in December, 1831, and dedicated January 3 following. When this building became too small it was sold to the Catholics and the present edifice was erected and dedicated April 15, 1857. The succession of pastors, as nearly as now known, has been as follows: Revs. Wm. JONES, James DURHAM, Delos HUTCHINS, Isaiah V. MAPES, Ira SMITH, D. S. CHASE, H. K. SMITH, J, M. McLOUTH, Calvin S. COATS, Joseph ANISWORTH, Ralph CLAPP, R. T. HANCOCK, Thomas TOUSEY, S. L. CONGDON, N. FELLOWS, Mr. CRANMER, A. SOUTHERLAND, De Witt C. HUNTINGTON, William MANNING, J. W. WILSON, Thomas STACEY, W. B. HOLT, Martin WHEELER, J. L. EDSON, G. C. WOOD, M. S. WELLS, Dwight WILLIAMS, F. DEVITT, B. H. BROWN, McKendree SHAW, R. T. MORRIS, A. N. DAMON, J. E. RHODES, L. S. BOYD.

EPISCOPAL CHURCHES.On the 6th of January, 1871, at a meeting held in DUMONT's Hall for the purpose of organizing a Protestant Episcopal church, there were present: Rev. T. L. RANDOLPH, who presided; P. H. THOMPSON, W. B. DUMONT, Benjamin DUNNING, H. D. BARTO, John WILLIS, Isaac MURRAY, and Stephen CLOUGH, the latter acting as secretary. Adjournment was had to January 25, at which time an organization was perfected and the following parish officers elected: Senior warden, H. D. BARTO; junior warden, William WILLIS; vestrymen, John WILLIS, W. B. DUMONT, Edward PEARSALL, Warren HALSEY, Benjamin DUNNING, Clark DAGGETT, John WOODWORTH and J. S. HALSEY: treasurer, David DUMONT; secretary, Stephen CLOUGH. The church received its name from the festival of the Epiphany, which occurred on the day of the first meeting. At a meeting held June 28, 1871, a committee was appointed to purchase a parsonage. It does not appear that this committee effected anything, for it was not until January 8, 1873, at a regular meeting of the vestry, Mr. H. D. BARTO made a formal donation of the property now occupied by the church and parsonage to the society for church purposes. This was a magnificent gift, as this property was valued at that time at nearly $5,000. On March 10, 1873, the church was put in possession of, and accepted a bequest of $9,000, by the last will and testament of John CARR, and it was determined to build a church immediately. To this end plans and specifications were obtained of Mr. William DUDLEY, a celebrated architect of New York; bids were advertised for and many were submitted. Mr. RANDOLPH resigned May 23, 1874, and on August 1 the contract for the stone work was let to John BLACKBALL. On August 8, 1874, a call was extended to Rev. Mr. VAN WINKLE, who resigned in April following and was succeeded by the Rev. Charles De L. ALLEN, and he by the Rev. A. H. ORMSBEE on April 5, 1877. All this time the people had been worshiping in the chapel, the church edifice was drawing near to completion as far as the exterior was concerned, but the building committee found themselves without the necessary funds to complete the interior and furnish the building, Mr. BARTO had died in the mean time, and by his death the church lost one of its strongest supporters. His widow, however, most generously replenished the depleted treasury with a donation of $1,000; she also purchased a piece of land in the rear of the church lot for something like $600 and donated the same to the society. The affairs of this church to justify them pushing the building to completion, which was done. Mr. ORNISBEE having resigned on September 16, 1878, the Rev. J. Everest CATHELL was sent here the same month, and entered into the work of finishing the church with a vigor and energy which characterized the man. He accepted a formal call in February, 1880, and remained until July, 1882. During his pastorate the church enjoyed a high degree of prosperity; he was a man of indomitable will and perseverance; a fine preacher and ripe scholar, and under his ministrations the church was largely increased in membership and financial strength. He was succeeded by the Rev. Thomas BERRY, who resigned in September, 1884. The pulpit was filled with supplies until the Rev. James P. FOSTER was sent here as minister in charge. Mr. FOSTER resided in Geneva and did not think it desirable to move his family to this place, although frequently desired to do so by the vestry, who thought the wants of the parish required a resident pastor, and to this end a call was extended to Rev. W. E. ALLEN on September 24, 1888, which was accepted.

At the present time (1894) the church is without a pastor, and services are conducted by Prof. E. E. SCRIBNER.

CATHOLIC CHURCH.Catholic families were comparatively late comers to this neighborhood, and in 1848 there were only three families of that faith here. They were occasionally visited by Rev. Father GILBRIDE, of Waterloo, down to 1853, when he was succeeded by Rev. Father GLEASON, under whose administration a site for a church was purchased; this was exchanged for the building now occupied by them, which was dedicated by Bishop TIMON, April 18, 1857. Rev. Father McCOOL served the parish about six years, and was succeeded by Rev. Father FARRELL for four months, and he by Father TOOLEY, who continued five years. Finally the growing Catholic community felt the need of a permanent place of worship, and the old Methodist church was purchased and refitted to meet the new wants. Rev. Father GILBERT was the first resident pastor, and remained to 1879. Rev. Father ANGELO came next and was succeeded by the present pastor, Rev. Father M. T. MADDEN, under whose administration the parish has greatly prospered.

There is a Methodist church at Jacksonville, noticed on another page, and a Methodist Mission is supported at Waterburg. There is also a Presbyterian Mission in School District No. 15.

JACKSONVILLE. This hamlet was early known as "Harlow's Corners, and is situated on the Ithaca and Geneva turnpike, about seven miles from Ithaca and near the center of the town of Ulysses. The name of the place was changed after the battle of New Orleans, in 1815, in honor of Old Hickory. The first postoffice here was established in 1822. The present postmaster is E. C. ALMY, who also has a store. The settlers in this locality have been mentioned in foregoing pages. There has never been much manufacturing. A lead pipe factory was in operation about ten years from 1830, and potash was manufactured in early years. John KERST is proprietor of the second store.

A Methodist class was formed at Jacksonville in 1803, of which Richard GOODWIN was leader; and in the following year a second one was formed, with Benjamin LANNING leader. The Methodist church at this place was made a separate charge in 1842, under Jonas DODGE, presiding elder. The church was built in 1827. The present pastor is Rev. J. M. WARNER.

WATERBURG. This is a hamlet in the southwestern part of the town where there has been a postoffice many years, and a small mercantile interest and shops. The present postmaster is William STEITTENROTH. James H. MOSS operates a grist and saw mill. A small store is conducted in connection with the postoffice.

1 TRADITIONS CONCERNING THE NAME TAUGHHANNOCK, OR TAGHANIC. D. H. HAMILTON, D.D., gives, a tradition concerning the name of the Taghanic Creek, which is from the Delaware dialect. From this tradition it would seem that the name was derived from a battle on its banks, between a hand of Delawares from their homes in Pennsylvania on a. raid to average the insult put upon that conquered nation by an Onondaga chief, CANASSETEGO, in a conference with the governor of Pennsylvania and the Delawares at Philadelphia. The Delawares had sold land to the Pennsylvania people, and the Iroquois called the governor to account for his dealings with a tributary people who had no right to alienate the soil of the conquered territory. In his speech the Onondaga chief stigmatized the Delawares as dishonest and cowards, unworthy the name of warriors, and therefore to be only known as women, and ordered them to leave the lands they had sold and remove into the Wyoming Valley, where they went. (Doc. Hist.) The tradition says that a young chief of the ancient line of Tatighannock, being present at the council, was stung by the sarcastic speech of the Onondaga, and vowed revenge. He gathered together a band of 200 young braves and marched northward to wreak vengeance for the insulting demeanor of the Iroquois in their own land, and, meeting with superior forces, was hemmed in on the bank of this stream, where the entire band perished except two, who were adopted into the Cayugas in place of relatives slain.

On their route to this region they passed Wyoming and Owego and took the trail for Cayuga Lake, plotting to fall upon the Indian towns lying around, especially Neodakheat (Ithaca), Deowendote (Aurora), and Genogeh (Canoga). Fearing, however, to attack Neodakheat, they turned to the left, and pursuing their way northwards entered the Cayuga country, lying between Cayuga and Seneca Lakes, meaning, to make an attack on Genogeh and then rush back and fall upon Neodaklicat.

They encountered, however, an unexpected resistance from some smaller settlements of Indians situated in the region where Trumansburgh, Perry, Mecklenburgh, Tannerville and Lodi have since been located. These Indians were both Cayugas and Senecas, the chief settlement of the former being between Perry and Mecklenburgh, while that of the Senecas was between Pratt's and Tannerville. The two tribes were, however, much intermingled, and assumed a name indicative of their origin, calling themselves Ganungueuguchi, that is Senecayugas. This union was brought about, for the most part, by an aspiring and talented young chief whose father was a Seneca and whose mother was a Cayuga. The name of the chief of the community - for they never rose to the full dignity of a tribe- was derived from Ganuridesaga (Seneca Lake), and Guenguch (Cayuga Lake). GANTINGUENGUCH was the Indian name of the chief, the settlements, the people, the stream, and of the falls. William H. BOGART, esq., of Aurora, says,In the Algonquin, the word tahnun means wood; olamehuknum, high; patihaakun, thunder. In the Miami tongue, forest is tawwonawkewc; in Delaware it is taikunah. Tahxxan, in Delaware, means wood. In the Decotah dialect, tehanwauken means very high. SCHOOHCRAFT states that the tribe generally dwelt on the banks of the rivers, which were denoted by an inflection to the root form of its name, as annallannockany, as heard in Susquehannah, Rappahannock, and Alleghany. The termination ofatun or atan or ton denote, a rapid stream or channel. In Iroquois, the particle on denotes a hill; ock denotes a forest. I find in a dictionary of the Onondaga language, prepared by Jean MURINCHAU, a French Jesuit, the word dehennah, or dehennach, meaning, I believe, a fall. In the Algonquin is the word taakhan, which is interpreted as woods, and in the Mohawk, tankah, the explanation of which is great. All these. brought together, are easily, in the changes of language and varieties of pronunciation, rendered as Taghannic, or The Great Fall in the Woods! which is the natural, and probable appellation given toby the quiet, simple, unimaginative men who once ruled and possessed all this land.

2SACKETT's Minutes of township of Ulysses, which covered the history of every lot, states that No. 2 was drawn by Abner TRIMMING, but all authorities show that Abner TREMAN was the person indicated.

Landmarks - Chapter XVI

Carl Hommel donated this material and transcribed into digital format.
Thank you Carl Hommel.

You are our visitor since March 13, 2002.
Thanks for stopping by!

© Copyright by the Tompkins County NYGenWeb Coordinators
for the contributors of the material on these pages.
All Rights Reserved.

Return to Landmarks of Tompkins County page
Return to Town of Ulysses Page
Return to Our Towns page
Return to Tompkins County home page